How Recognizing Recurring Visitors Works

As an Envoy administrator, you can enable the Recognize recurring visitors feature for your location. When a visitor who has previously signed in at your location enters their name on the kiosk, Envoy will “recognize” them.

The kiosk will ask the visitor if the email address or phone number associated with that name belongs to them and not to another visitor with the same name. If there’s a match, the kiosk automatically fills in the rest of the visitor’s information. Additionally, Envoy checks if their NDA and/or photo is on file to save the returning visitor even more time.

Important Considerations about the Recurring Visitors Feature

  • Since Envoy uses an email address or phone number to confirm a visitor’s identity, you must have at least one of these fields in your sign-in flow.
  • If visitors provide different names on subsequent visits, Envoy will not “recognize” them.
  • When Envoy asks visitors to confirm their email address or phone number, visitors will see a masked version of the information.
  • If a visitor signs in and Envoy doesn’t “recognize” them, they will simply be asked to fill in the rest of their sign-in details.

Enabling Recognition of Recurring Visitors

  1. Go to Visitors > Settings > Welcome screen > Recurring visitorsImage 1
  2. Look for “Recognize recurring visitors”
    1. To enable, set the switch to the “on” position.
    2. To disable, set the switch to the “off” position.

Customizing Recurring Visitors per Visitor Type

Only available with Premium and Enterprise subscriptions

  1. Go to Visitors > Settings > Sign-in flow > Edit for the desired visitor type > Sign-in fieldsImage 2
  2. Click on “Field options” and go to the “Recurring visitors” tab
  3. For each question, except “Your email address” or “Your phone number”, you can choose whether Envoy will remember the answer they gave the last time, or if you want them to answer this question every time they visit.

Important Considerations for Custom Recurring Visitor Settings

  • If you’re using our “Data retention” feature and choose to discard answers, Envoy will not remember the forgotten answers for recurring visitors.
  • Visitors will be able to change answers to questions set to “remember” during their pre-registration or sign-in process.
  • The next time they sign in, we’ll remember what they changed.
  • By default, everything is set to “Only the most recent visit”.